20 years of the Sunsong website – down memory lane

2016 marks the 20th anniversary of my Sunsong website. Back in 1996, the internet was a relatively lonely place and so much more text-based than we see today. I used a dial-up modem at 9.6 kbps and if I was using the internet, we couldn’t use our home phone at the same time. Amazingly, by the end of 1996, the site had received over 44,000 visits.

Initially, I used the Compuserve service, then migrated to one hosted by Software Warehouse who were eventually bought out by Tiscali (now TalkTalk). With Compuserve, they provided a “Home Page Wizard” which was one of the first WYSIWYG webpage editors. I moved to using Microsoft Frontpage and then Frontpage 2000 and learnt to do my own HTML coding to tidy things up (a bit). Since 2009, sunsong.co.uk has been hosted on WordPress.com.

Here are some screenshots of the Sunsong Home Page over the years:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments are closed.

